Refugio County


  Welcome to the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Refugio County, located in the Coastal Bend area of South Texas. Easily accessible from all directions via U.S. Hwy. 183 and U.S. Hwy. 77, Refugio County is just an hour from the nearby cities of Corpus Christi and Victoria, and two hours from Austin, San Antonio, and Houston. The county’s five incorporated cities include: Refugio, Woodsboro, Bayside, Austwell, and Tivoli. The Extension Program, directed by the Refugio County Extension Leadership Advisory Board, strives to serve a population who derives its main income from a mix of agriculture and oil and gas. Mission: Improving the lives of people, businesses, and communities across Texas and beyond through high-quality, relevant education. Texas A&M griLife Extension Service brings the resources of the Texas A&M University System to Refugio County. Through field based faculty, Extension provides unbiased, research-based educational programs, and technical assistance in the following core service areas:

  • Agriculture
  • Community & Economic Development
  • Environmental Stewardship
  • Individual & Family Capacity
  • Nutrition, Diet & Health
  • Youth Development